Home > Professions > Nursing > The TEAS


The ATI TEAS (Test of Essential Academic Skills) is an exam required for admission to about half of Texas ADN and BSN programs. It covers 4 academic areas—Reading, Math, Science, and English & Language. Unlike the HESI you will need to take every section of the TEAS. Institutions may limit how many times you can reattempt to take the TEAS per application period, so check with your programs for details.

TEAS registration - https://www.atitesting.com/home.aspx

BSN programs that require the TEAS include:
  • UT Medical Branch
  • Schreiner University
  • Stephen F. Austin State University
  • University of Houston
  • Texas Tech HSC
  • University of the Incarnate Word
  • Texas Woman’s University
  • Wayland Baptist University
  • UT Tyler
  • UT El Paso
  • Texas State San Marcos
  • Concordia University Texas
  • East Texas Baptist University
  • Texas A&M University Texarkana
  • Southwestern Adventist University
  • Angelo State University